Recipes · Snacks

Raw, vegan, superfood brownie protein bites

If you’re anything like me, you get the 3-4pm munchies.  No matter how much I eat for lunch (and I NEVER leave the house without breakfast so that’s a given) by 3/4pm, I’m starvingggg…  I can’t concentrate, I stare at the clock wishing it to be home-time, and in general get so angsty that am close to chewing someone’s head off if I don’t eat something asap.  Of course if I forgot to pack a snack by the time I get home at 7/8pm-ish, I gorge on whatever we have in the fridge, despite having dinner an hour later.  NOT a great tactic.

As it’s usually something sweet I crave during this “3:30-itis”, but not wanting to necessary gorge a chocolate bar every afternoon (it would be nice though no…???), I got a little experimental this last weekend, desperate to make something that I could happily snack on without feeling guilty, but filling enough to would ensure that my nails and my colleagues’ heads remained intact.  And voila, these little raw brownie protein bites were created!  Feel free to mix up the nuts and seeds to your liking (peanut would be awesome!) and same goes for the superfood additions.  Provided the proportions are more or less the same, you can’t go wrong!

Raw, vegan, superfood brownie protein bites  Ball1
Makes about 22 golf-sized balls

Ingredients
15 medjool dates
1/4C hazelnuts (or nuts of choice)
1/4C cashews (or nuts of choice)
1/4C hemps seeds
2TB coconut oil (melted)
3 scoops protein powder of your choice
1/2C cacao powder
1/3C shredded coconut
1/4C chia seeds
1/2C oats (gluten-free if required)
1tsp vanilla extract  ball3
1tsp spirulina (start with 1/2tsp and work up to taste)
1TB acai berry powder
1TB maca powder (start with 1/2TB and work up to taste)
1TB camu camu powder
pinch of salt
2TB maple syrup (to taste)
2-4TB water (if required)

Directions
1. Place nuts and seeds in blender and process until a paste forms (you can leave it a bit crunchy if you like). Add de-seeded dates and process until smooth.
2. Add remaining ingredients (remember to start out with the lower proportions of maca and spirulina as they can be overpowering). Taste and if required, add the maple syrup. If the mixture is too thick, add 1TB of water at a time. The mixture will be very sticky to handle, but will harden once refrigerated.
3. Form golf-sized balls, place on some baking paper, refrigerate and enjoy!

ball4

Leave a comment